Bluebird day after day…..

In my recent posts I have commented on the glorious weather we are currently being blessed with in Whistler.  Well, it’s still here and still amazing.  When I woke up yesterday, the first thing I saw out my window got me pretty pumped to get out there and ride some trails.

Bluebird

Bluebird

Unfortunately my attempts to get out on my bike were thwarted by a broken bottom bracket.  I figured once I had that replaced, I may as well put on all the new drivetrain components that had just come in the post.  As it turns out, I am not a bike mechanic and after hours of fiddling, tweaking and cursing I only had my shifter to hook up.  It was broken.  Perfect.  At my wits end, I told my buddy to head on without me, as I had exhausted all my knowledge and patience.  He promptly came over and set about trying to help.  It took him about an hour and half to sort it, but he finally cracked it.  We had long since given up on our ride and had cracked our first beers.  At least I would be good to go the next day.

Before that day came around, I managed to get myself to Araxi Restaurant for dinner.  Its a great time of year in Whistler because during the slow season a lot of restaurants put on amazing specials.  This allows a lot of locals, seasonaires and tourists who couldn’t usually afford some of the higher end places to get out and test their menus.  Araxi puts on a fantastic five course meal for $31, and it is phenomenal.  Definitely worth checking out.  24 hours later I would be dining in another popular venue, the Rimrock Cafe.  The Rimrock are putting on a great four course menu for the same price, and it also exceeds expectations.

It was tough to wake up this morning, still deep in my food coma, but 0700 rolled around and out on the trails I went.  Peddled out to Alpine Meadows, for a sneaky little climb up to Cat Scratch Fever and Mandatory Suicide.  These two trails are steep, technical and always get my blood pumping.  Once Mandatory Suicide is over, the trail mellows out a lot into Mel’s Dilemma and Emerald Forest which are both fairly easy undulating terrain.

Climbing

Climbing

I won’t go on to much about disc golf as I have covered it before,  however it was an absolute scorcher out there today and some of the views were incredible.

Negotiating trees on the third

Negotiating trees on the third

View from behind the trees above the 18th hole.  Not a cloud in sight.

View from behind the trees above the 18th hole. Not a cloud in sight.

At the end of the game, I had one thing on my mind.  Iced coffee.  It was hot.  I was thirsty and tired.  I couldn’t bike there quick enough.  With coffee in hand, it was to the couch for a little rest before heading down to the Rimrock Cafe for dinner.

We just caught the dying moments of the sunset down by Alta Lake.  It would have been great to have been there earlier however we still scored some pretty incredible views.

Big fan of Instagram. Helping out mediocre photographers everywhere.

Big fan of Instagram. Helping out mediocre photographers everywhere.

Testing out a new lens.  The shots will get better.  I hope.

Testing out a new lens. The shots will get better. I hope.

Ahhhhh what a sensational couple of days.

Leave a Reply

