First Star Trail

A couple of weeks ago I hiked out to Cheakamus Lake.  It’s trail-head is roughly 16km from Whistler Village, the last seven to eight kilometres is a dirt forest service road.  There will be more to come in an upcoming post, however as the title explains I attempted my first star trail photo that night.

It was a pretty stunning night.  We had a fantastic sunset and a waxing gibbous moon to observe.

Sunset at Cheakamus Lake

Sunset at Cheakamus Lake

Waxing Gibbous

Waxing Gibbous

I didn’t really know what I was doing with the star trail as I had just spoken to a friend briefly who had said he was going to try it.  I simply did what my friend had told me and set the camera for multiple 30 second exposures with a 5 second delay between each shot.  I ended up with about 55 images which I then merged using Photoshop.

First attmept

First attempt

I was fairly happy with the result and since that night I have read a lot more on how to improve the quality of my shot.

I am extremely excited to get back out there and have another attempt.

2 responses to “First Star Trail

  1. amazing! and so beautiful…

  2. Pingback: Cheakamus Lake | One Life One Whistler

Leave a Reply

